Skip to main content


Pre-Engineering Scholarship

For graduates of Scottsbluff or Gering High Schools who will attend
Western Nebraska Community College to pursue a degree in Pre-Engineering.

​One (1) $2000 ($500 per semester) scholarship will be given annually to a senior who is a graduate of Scottsbluff or Gering High Schools and who will attend Western Nebraska Community College to pursue a degree in Pre-Engineering. The scholarship is for one year.

To qualify for the Pre-Engineering Scholarship, students must:

  • Be a United States citizen
  • Be a graduating senior of Scottsbluff or Gering High Schools
  • Be accepted and enrolled at Western Nebraska Community College
  • Be enrolled in a minimum of twelve (12) semester hours
  • Be majoring in pre-engineering

​Deadline for application and supporting documents is April 1st.

Applicant must complete the online application at, and:

  • Upload three (3) letters of recommendation
  • Draft a personal essay of why you are applying for this scholarship and why you have chosen this area of study. Describe your plans and goals as well as your need for financial assistance and any additional information you wish to provide about yourself
  • Disclose other scholarships applied for and/or received
  • Upload a copy of their high school transcript and ACT test results

NOTE: This scholarship is secondary to other scholarships. If the student receives another scholarship toward tuition that does not pay their entire tuition, this scholarship will pay up to $1,000 for any remaining tuition per semester.

A winner and an alternate will be selected by the OTCF Scholarship Committee. The scholarship will be rescinded and awarded to the alternate if the recipient does not comply with all requirements.

The scholarship will be paid directly to the school each semester, for credit to the student’s account.

Scholarship Recipients

  • ​2017  Jackson Hohnstein,  Scottsbluff ($2.000)
  • 2018  Brandon Ramos - Scottsbluff ($2,000)
  • 2019  Dontae Rios - Scottsbluff ($2,000)
  • 2020  Riley Amundsen - ($2,000)
  • 2021  Tucker Halstead - Gering ($2,000)
  • 2023 Adolfo Vaquera Martinez - Scottsbluff ($2,000)

Our Impact - 2023

  • Funds Managed by OTCF


  • Community Grants Awarded


  • Scholarships Awarded


  • Net Assets


© 2024 Oregon Trail Community Foundation

Powered by Firespring